Monday, 1 May 2017

All About Notes and Frets

In the Opening Lesson You have read about a thing Called “Fret Board”,If not then read it Here.

The Fret board is Divided into several Partitions called “FRETS” and they are the things that bring the change in the sound.pressing one them along with striking the string  produce a peculiar sound called “NOTE“,below we will read more about “NOTES“.

Music has got  SEVEN natural notes ,named as "A,B,C,D,E,F,G",including the "FLATS and SHARP" there are a total of 12 Notes

The notes get Repeated  after every 12 Notes,and they are a bit sharper(as they are at a  higher pitch the ,usually the difference is called an Octave)

There are spacing between each Natural note,called a “Whole Step” (think Sa Re Ga Ma Pa Dha Ni), a distinct sound difference in the tone of each musical note.

Halfway between music notes there are Half Steps ( A  A#  B  C  C#  D  D#  E  F  F#  G  G#) ,The ‘#‘ symbol is called a SHARP,and Note that half steps are also called Flats,usually denoted by a “b“(called a FLAT ) at the end (Ab A Bb B C Db D Eb E F Gb G)

You will notice that between the B and C and between the E and F there are no half steps,these two exceptions are only a half step apart in their normal form.

The sharp and flat names can mean the same thing, for example after the A note the half step can be called either A# (A sharp) or Bb (B flat).
If the half step FOLLOWS a note, it is sharp - if it comes BEFORE a note it is flat:
 A (A# or Bb) B C (C# or Db) D (D# or Eb) E F (F# or Gb) G (G# or Ab).

On your guitar, each fret provides a Half Step between each note – remember that the two exceptions B-C and E-F are actually a half step apart (there are no sharps/flats between these notes).

The six strings on your guitar are normally Tuned to the following notes in their “open” (or un-fretted) form:
1st String (closest to the ground, thinnest string) – E (the high-pitched one)
2nd String – B
3th String – G
4th String – D
5th String – A
6th String (closest to your face, Thickest string) – E( the low-pitched one)

In the fretboard diagram, C# (C sharp) is used and not Db (D flat), and so on. If you for example are looking for the note Ab (A flat) this is the same as G# (G sharp).

The story behind the dots

Between some of the frets are inlays, most often displayed with dots. These function is to help you to orient in the horizontal direction and making it easier to find the right fret fast. The inlays on the fretboard are placed schematic on guitar and the typical formation involves single dots on the 3rd, 5th, 7th, 9th, 15th, 17th, 19th, 21st frets and double dots on the 12th and 24th frets (the reason for double frets on 12th and 24th frets are because the notes starts over on these frets: the notes on 12th fret are one octave higher than on the open strings, and the notes on 24th fret are one octave higher than the notes on 12th fret).


On the guitar fret board the same note is represented many times, seven to eight times to be precise. Some of the notes are in different octaves. For example, the C note is represented seven times on the first twelve frets. If we start counting from the left on the lowest string the first two C notes are in one octave, the next three are in a second octave and the last two in a third octave.

If you find it very difficult to learn all the notes on the fretboard, you should at least start by learning the tones on the low E and the A strings because the roots of chords are often on these strings. As you can observe, the lowest and the highest strings are identical.

No comments:

Post a Comment